Gary Con VIII, March 2016 – Part 3

Jeez, what a winter.  I better hurry this up to get done before GaryCon 2017!

So, Friday was a long, long day.  I agreed to run Legions of the Petal Throne, a miniatures fantasy wargame written by Dave Sutherland, as a memorial event for Dave.  That’s the only thing that could make me drag my sorry ass out of bed in time for an 8 AM event.

Never again.

The game went okay, but I’m not as familiar with Legions as I thought so we didn’t get as far along as I hoped to.  Everybody seemed to have fun, though, so I’m not going to worry.  An interesting piece of gaming history: When Dave wrote the game, he and Phil (M.A.R.) Barker (creator of Tekumel) decided that the game should be written with the assumption that buyers were NOT familiar with miniatures wargaming.  This was 1977, so for those of you who are interested in when the RPG hobby split off from wargaming, there’s a clue.

The noontime game was one of my perennial favorites, “Don’t give Up the Ship,” sailing ship action in the age of Napoleon.  This is always fun.  I was playing an English frigate captain again (I like small ships) and my friend Paul was commanding the French.  Briefly put, we got handed our asses in a bucket.  The French used the weather gage and their ships of the line cut the British line in two and defeated the fragmented forces in detail.  It was extremely well done.  I want to note that a good time was still had by all; you do NOT have to win to have fun in a wargame.  But that’s a rant for another day.

One amusing thing is that during the battle there was a French frigate downwind from me.  Her captain caught my eye and grinned.  I nodded back… “it’s on.”  I turned into a downwind run and hung every scrap of canvas I could find while the Frenchie tacked tight into the wind.

Well, in the turn we would have come into gun range, my erstwhile sparring partner inadvertently wrote “turn right” instead of “turn left,” with the effect that we split off from each other and shot past our intended engagement point, and we were both travelling so fast it took us the rest of the game to turn around.  Oopsie.

Meanwhile I had a small 24 gun sloop that was going head-on with a French sloop.  One turn we were about a foot apart and fired our bow chasers at each other… and the next we shot past each other again and fired our stern chasers.  And then came about each, and did the same thing again.  Much fun, but not very effective.  I do have to admit I’ve never jousted with sailing ships before.

Friday night was my OD&D game, “More Magic Users with Knives.”  Sadly, this was the second year in a row where I felt like I just didn’t run a very good game.  It had been a long day, and I was exhausted before the game even started.  Everybody seemed to have fun, but I just didn’t feel like I gave the players the experience they deserved.  This year my D&D game is Saturday evening, and I’m going to take steps to make sure I’m more rested.

Tune in soon for the saga of Saturday.

Beer, out.

Leave a Reply

